Knights Trading De Aussies beat defending champions, Sugar Reef Bequia United by 51 runs yesterday at the Clive Tannis Playing Field in Port Elizabeth, to win this year’s Bequia Twenty/20 Cricket Championship.

Batting first, Knights Trading De Aussies amassed 220 for 5 off their allotted 20-overs, led by a blistering 77 off 27 balls, including 5 sixes and 5 fours by Captain, Dean Browne. He was supported by his brother Razime Browne, who hammered 53 off 19 balls, including 4 fours and 2 sixes. Julian Edwards made 28, and Shem Browne being the main scorers. Leon Quashie grabbed 3 for 32.

In reply, Sugar Reef Bequia United reached 166 for 9 off 16.5 overs, with one player retiring hurt due to an injury. Mackenson Kydd hit 34, Jenry Ollivierre made 27, and Chelson Stowe added 24. Razime Browne finished 3 for 23, while Man of the Final Dean Browne took 3 for 41, and Shem Browne had 2 for 37, to ensure their team’s victory.

The final scores: Knights Trading De Aussies 220 for 4 off 20-overs, Sugar Reef Bequia United 166 for 9 off 16.5-overs.

Earlier in the 3rd place play-off, Port Elizabeth defeated De Defenders by 80 runs to clinch the third place.

The scores: Port Elizabeth 246 for 4 off 20-overs; Romano Pierre 96, Kimarley Williams 78, Joseph Francis 32; Othneil Lewis 2 for 49, De Defenders 166 for 8 off 17.3-overs; Othneil Lewis 71, Primus Nanton 26; Aaron Friday 3 for 28, Romano Pierre 2 for 37.
Coull’s Rangers, Ajuba and the Royal St. Vincent and the Grenadines Police Force won opening matches at the weekend in the VINLEC North Leeward Twenty/20 Cricket Championship at the Cumberland Playing Field.