Lanka Premier League (LPL) to take place from December 4th to 23rd

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Thursday that the 2021 Lanka Premier League (LPL), Sri Lanka’s domestic Twenty/20 Tournament, will take place from 4th to 23rd December.

The tournament was originally scheduled for 30th July to 22nd August, but the announcement of the Kashmir Premier League (KPL) , the KPL which required players to be free from 12th August, The Hundred, and another possible international series involving Bangladesh forced the organisers to rethink their timing.

Two of the five franchises that took part last year, Dambulla Viiking and Colombo Kings have been cut from this year’s Tournament.

A third franchise, Jaffna Stallions have not been forthcoming with the Know Your Client (KYC) details that franchises are required to provide in order to be vetted by the ICC, and has also not been prompt with payments to the tournament.

Stallions, the defending champions, contend that they have been unwilling to make payments to the league with so much uncertainty surrounding its timing.