Trinidad & Tobago Calypso Monarch

Roderick “Chucky” Gordon captured the 2014 Calypso Monarch title at Sunday’s Dimanche Gras presentation at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port of Spain.

Singing in position eight, the reigning Independence Calypso Monarch delivered two well-received renditions of “Wey Yuh Think” and “Wedding Of De Century” to wrest the crown from Eric “Pink Panther” Taylor, who placed eleventh.

Kurt Allen, who sang “Sweet Sizzling Summer” and “The Lost Psalm Of King David”, had to settle for the runner-up position for the third consecutive year.

Third place went to Selvon “Mistah Shak” Noel, who delivered “Bois” and “Crime Round De Clock.

1. Roderick “Chucky” Gordon – ‘Wey Yuh Think”/”Wedding Of De Century”
2. Kurt Allen – “Sweet Sizzling Summer”/”The Lost Psalm Of King David”
3. Selvon “Mistah Shak” Noel – “Bois”/”Crime Round De Clock”
4. Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool – “Ah Miss De Bards”/”De Guest List”
5. Brian London – “The Heart Of A Warrior”/”Call Dem Out”
6. Victoria “Queen Victoria” Cooper – “Political Love Affair”/”Congo Warrior”
7. Alana Sinnette – “Sea Lots”/”And Calling It Rain”
8. Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins – “Pious, Poor But Proud”/”Goodness Delayed”
9. Carlos “Skatie” James – “Calypso Woman”/”Jack And Jill”
10. Myron “The Incredible Myron B” Bruce – “One More Sip”/”First Black Prime Minister”
11. Eric “Pink Panther” Taylor – “De Richest Man”/”Not Tonight”
12. Roger “Bodyguard” Mohammed – “Aloes Vendor”/”False Papers

The first, second and third received cash prizes of one-million dollars, $500,000 and $250,000, respectively.

One of the evening’s highlights was a guest appearance by Dr. Slinger Francisco the Mighty Sparrow who did a spirited medley of past hits.