SVG Cycling Rewards Ceremony

Zephal Bailey is this country’s top Cyclist for last year. He won the Award at the 11th St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cycling Union Awards Ceremony held on Saturday night at the Murray Heights Hotel here in Kingstown.

Bailey also won the top Award in category one for riders under 40 years.

The awards are based on aggregate points over 13 races held in 2014.
Zephal Bailey also captured the best performance in an event award for 2014. For that award, he recorded the fastest average speed in a 35 mile road race.

Peter Durrant won the Award for Over-40 category for another year.
The most consistent performer award went to Orel George. He participated in eleven of thirteen races held by the Cycling Union.

Lucky Antrobus captured the Award for the Most Improved Cyclist.

The ceremony, heard remarks from Cycling Union President-Trevor (SAILOR) Bailey, and Cecil Mc Kie, Minister of Sports, Tourism and Culture.

Apart from giving a brief review of the 2014 year in Cycling, Bailey announced a number of initiatives for 2015.

This year, St. Vincent will received a BMX Cycle Track courtesy the US cycling Federation. In the first week of February, ten cycles will arrive in St. Vincent for the continuation of the grassroot Cycling programme.

Those cycles will come from the Pan American cycling Federation. The SVG Cyling Union will also move to establish a Women’s commission (committee) within that body, and in October of this year, the SVG Cycling Union will stage the much anticipated Caribbean Masters Championships which is already over subscribed.

In his remarks Hon. Cecil Mc Kie congratulated the Cycling Union for continuing to lift the profile of the sport. Efforts like these he said will receive capacity empowerment when the National Sports Policy comes up for review this year.