Defending champion, the West Indies will open its campaign against host New Zealand in next year’s ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup according to the announced schedule yesterday.
The West Indies will play the inaugural Group A day-night fixture at Bay Oval in Tauranga on the opening day of the event which runs from 13th January to 3rd February and will feature 16 teams across seven venues in four cities, Christchurch, Queenstown, Tauranga and Whangarei.

The other teams in Group A are 2012 champion South Africa and Africa qualifier, Kenya, while three-time champions, India and Australia are in Group B, along with Zimbabwe and East Asia Pacific qualifier, Papua New Guinea.
Bangladesh, Canada, England and Namibia comprise Group C while two-time champion Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Asia qualifier, Afghanistan and Europe qualifier, Ireland form Group D in what is the 11th edition of the tournament, and the third to be held in New Zealand.
The 10 Test playing nations (prior to Afghanistan and Ireland’s recent inclusion) gained automatic qualification to the event along with the best finishing associate from the last Tournament, Namibia. Five regional qualifiers also take part in the event that it is held every two years, and showcases future stars.